Reviews



Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely friendly welcome on arrival. We was in the green room , and it was a nice size and big bathroom. Lovely views of the garden and countryside out the window. Comfy bed and pillows. Brilliant breakfast and nothing was too much trouble.Will definitely be going back. (source TripAdvisor)

Response

Hi Christina, Thank you so much for your lovely review we really appreciate feedback. So glad you enjoyed your weekend despite the weather! Hope to see you again sometime in the future. With kind regards, Dave and Brenda

Reviewer:Christina D | Mon 28th Oct 2019 | 5 days ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely friendly people. Nothing too much trouble. Lovely comfy bed and views out the window. Fantastic choice for breakfast in cereal and lovely cooked breakfast. Will definitely go back.

Response

Hi Judith,Thank you so much for your lovely review.It was so nice to meet you and be able to host you at last.We look forward to seeing you again in December.With kindest regards,BrendaP.S.The chocolate ginger biscuits were out of this world!

Reviewer:No N | Mon 28th Oct 2019 | 5 days ago


Simply The Best - Rating 5/5

This is truly the very best B and B I’ve ever stayed in !From the very warm welcome by Brenda upon arrival and every facility provided I couldn’t find fault and I’m hard to please in this respect. Clearly the owners Brenda and David have this down to a fine art. The property itself is in a nice village and quiet with wonderful gardens both front and back with lovely views across the fields. Free parking on a large drive.They have thought of everything, with wonderful little touches not seen in other places that I’ve stayed in.The property itself is quintessentially English of the 1930’s era both outside and in. The breakfast is fantastic with all you could ever need and cooked to your requirements, with fruit, yoghurts and cereal. For a coffee snob like me I was very impressed with the cafetière of strong coffee to set me up for the day.Will I ever go back ? You bet ! Will I pass this on to relatives, of course. Everything is a 5* experience but Brenda makes it a 6* !Great value.Now please don’t tell anyone as I don’t want to find them fully booked next time I want to go. ???? (source TripAdvisor)

Reviewer:DAVE B | Fri 18th Oct 2019 | 2 weeks ago


home from home bed - Rating 5/5

Brenda gave us a warm and friendly greeting on arrival. The house is very classy and clean. Great views over stunning garden and fields beyond. Breakfast was very nice, lots of choices available including home made marmalade and perfectly poached eggs. Although it was on a main road it was surprisingly quite in one of the 2 back bedrooms, sharing a bathroom wasn't a problem as we never saw or heard the person in the next room, there was a toilet and wash basin in the room itself. We stayed here as it was half way to southampton on the day before our cruise. It was about 20 minutes from the M1 but well worth the time, the bed was amazing, sooo soft and comfortable, it was like sleeping on a marsh mellow, non of your premier inn rubbish hard and lumpy beds. (source TripAdvisor)

Response

Hi Julie, Thank you so much for your very kind review. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and we hope you had a wonderful holiday. Just to answer your query regarding the bathroom arrangements, both the bedrooms have their own bathrooms which are for the sole occupants of the bedroom, so nobody has to share. The bedroom next to yours is not a bed and breakfast room and I have now put a \\\\\\\'private\\\\\\\' notice on the door so people will realise the bathroom is for their use only. So sorry for the confusion. Do hope we might see you again sometime in the future. With kind regards and thanks, Brenda

Reviewer:Julie B | Wed 3rd Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Elegant Home-stay B&B - Rating 5/5

Get a warm and homely greeting to this most charming B&B, with beautiful views of the Northamptonshire countryside. Our double room was perfect, the owners had thought of everything to make our stay so comfortable. We were guided through some of the places to visit and eat, all of which we did. Our full English breakfast was delicious.....the owner even cooked up something we had bought locally to include with our breakfast. We would definitely book a stay there again. Thank you for making us feel so welcome. (source TripAdvisor)

Response

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We really enjoyed your stay and often think of the fun we had with some of our conversations. Thank you for telling us about the pub nearby, it should have been us telling you! With every good wish, Brenda and David.

Reviewer:Nicola G | Fri 28th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


A perfect little B&B tucked away in the countryside - Rating 5/5

I needed somewhere to stay for a little over a week, near Sywell airfield, and stumbled across Hillcrest on Google - and I'm glad I did! Dave and Brenda, the hosts, are very warm and welcoming without being overly so, and with a key to come and go as I pleased, it really was like a home from home. I went with the Green room, which had wonderful views over the beautiful garden and into the fields beyond, a king sized bed, and a good power shower in the adjacent bathroom, which was just for my use.The little touches really made it though - Brenda noticed I'd bought some cereal to eat as I needed to leave in the early hours each morning, well before breakfast, so she left a bowl, spoon and some sugar in the room when I got back - nice! And nothing was too much trouble - even accommodating me for an extra day at short notice.If I was going to set up and run a B&B, this would be the example I would use - a gem of a find, and certainly my stop of choice next time I'm at Sywell. (source TripAdvisor)

Reviewer:Regular T | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 1 year ago